You are here:


Inception Workshop for the Pacific

8 October 2011, Nadi, Fiji

Participants from the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu were briefed on the Nagoya Protocol.

In group works and in the plenary participants ended the workshop with a statement in which they noted, among other aspects, the need to promote the early entry into force of the Nagoya Protocol and requested that the ABS Capacity Development Initiative expedite the roll out of its programme to assist countries of the Pacific region with the implementation of the Nagoya Protocol.